Prayed? Now What

post3

Ever had that feeling that God is not answering your prayers? Then you start to wonder has God really forsaken you? It’s funny how quickly we as humans find blame in something other than ourselves. We are quick to point fingers at others, though find it difficult to point at ourselves and realise when we are at fault.

There was a time in my life where I would pray and pray and pray, yet see no results. I started to become convinced that God was not hearing me at all, I felt alone and abandoned by God. Wondering all the time what I had done to anger God, was it fixable and could I make him love me again? It was hard to tell people this problem because no matter how much I love my family and friends I didn’t want them to see me in this position. I was afraid of what they would think, what they would say about me to themselves and I was afraid of them thinking less of me. I was stuck in my own bubble of confusion, fear, sadness and hurt.

Then one day I got a revelation as I was reading the bible, the problem wasn’t my thoughts of God abandoning me, it was within me. It was about where my heart was at after prayer. When we pray at times we have these little doubts afterwards, has God really heard me? Is he going to make it really happen? I knew then that my heart was not in the right place. All these thoughts would come and I would allow them to develop and grow with each prayer. God wants to do so much in our lives and he can only do them if we allow him to. Our lack of faith after prayer limits God’s power and blessings towards us. I was limiting God from answering my prayers, I was allowing doubt to cloud my faith and to silence it.

Faith is a critical component to enable God to work upon us, “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen” (Hebrews 11:1). The important part of prayer happens after the prayer, so it is very important for us to have faith after prayer. If our hearts are not set right we may block what God had planned to give to us. It’s not that God hasn’t heard us, it’s that we have built a wall and limited his access to our lives. We need to learn to break that wall and have faith and trust God wholeheartedly “Blessed are those who put their trust in Him”(Psalm 2:12). God is ready to give us all he has promised us, however it is up to us to let him in and do so. Stay Blessed!

“For [his] love [for you] is as strong as death” (Song of Solomon 8:6)

7 thoughts on “Prayed? Now What

Leave a Reply

