Comparisons That Lead To Destruction PT.2

By Chidi Udemezue

chidi comparison

Hey everyone, I’m really excited to be featuring again on stylishlyinspired! As Anashe previously mentioned, we will both be discussing and sharing our take on the same theme. This week, the theme is “comparisons.”

Now, the very first blog post I wrote was on comparisons.
“Comparison is the thief of joy.”
I already knew that this was an area of my personality that I needed to gain some control over.
It is so easy, especially in this day and age, and within our generation; to let the lies of social media and everyday life, contend with our realities and the truths that God says about us.
I believe that God will continue to allow tests and trials to happen in your life until you learn to overcome them with Him and with His word. Which is what I believe He did with me in the area of comparing myself to others. I want to share the lessons that I learnt from Him with you!

Genesis 4:3-5 (NIV)
In the course of time Cain brought some of the fruits of the soil as an offering to the Lord.
And Abel also brought an offering – fat portions from some of the firstborn of his flock. The Lord looked with favour on Abel and his offering,
But on Cain and his offering he did not look with favour. So Cain was very angry, and his face was downcast.

For those of you who don’t know, Cain and Abel were the children of Adam and Eve, the first siblings in the bible. It is from them, that I truly learnt why I shouldn’t compare myself to another.
When the Holy Spirit led me to this particular scripture, I got a couple points from it, the main two being:

  1. Service//Offering
  2. Comparison

The overall theme however from these two points were why I should never compare myself, my gifts, my offering, my service to anyone else.

Service//Offering
For reasons unknown to us, Cain’s service/offering of fruit was unacceptable to God. My initial thought was because it was fruit and not meat. However, the bible says in 2 Corinthians 9:7 “…give what you have decided in your heart to give…” my understanding from that is it is not WHAT you give, but HOW you give unto the Lord.
Why was Cain’s offering not acceptable? Maybe it was his attitude? Nonchalance? Pride? Lack of humility? It could have been anything, we don’t know.

However, Abel came, and his offering was much better received. Maybe he came with joy, obedience, and willingness to go above and beyond for God regardless of everything. Maybe he came with nothing missing in terms of his heart and he just wanted to give onto the Lord.

From this, I got that God wants our service and our offering to be like Abel’s

  • Undiluted
  • Pure
  • No strings attached
  • Joyful

Comparison
Cain could see that God looked with favour upon Abel and he immediately compared himself to his brother.
For me, you can only see and look at someone enviously when they are doing something that you know you aren’t doing.

Again, it’s not about the fact that you give/serve, but HOW you give/serve.

Cain saw that in the eyes of God, his service did not match or live up to Abel’s. The bible says in Genesis 4:5 “…Cain was very angry, and his face was downcast.” In comparison, Cain immediately turned to sin – anger.

Even in his sin, God still came and spoke to Cain and warned him in v.6-7:
“Then the Lord said to Cain, “Why are you angry? Why is your face downcast? If you do what is right, will you not be accepted? But if you do not what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must rule over it.”

In the comparison, sin is already waiting for you, but in order for you to overcome the sin, you must overcome the comparison. You must rule over it. How do you rule over it? Go back and check your motives. Are you serving/giving purely? Out of joy? With no strings attached? If not, take these motives to God and let Him deal with the root of the problem.

God warned Cain. (Just like I’m sure God warns me and God warns you. God may not talk to you directly like He did Cain, but He definitely does speak, the question is are you listening?) However, Cain did not listen and ultimately killed his brother Abel.
Although Abel died at the hand of Cain, the sin from comparison ultimately led to Cain’s spiritual death, which I think is worse than a physical death.
Comparison truly is the thief of joy! It robbed Cain of the presence of God (spiritual death) “…and I will be hidden from your presence;” and he suffered for it!

Ultimately what I am trying to say to those who are reading is this; please do not compare your life, your gifts, and your service to those of another!
Use what God has given you to the very best of your ability and just like God was with Abel, God will be happy with you.
The end result of your comparison is never worth it! Be content and happy in your portion and watch God bless you!

Much love,

© Chidi Udemezue, 04/2017, www.mycameragodandi.weebly.com

To receive more from the Lovely Chidi, Check out her blog and give her a follow 🙂 stay blessed everyone 

Leave a Reply

