Rooted In Christ

By Chidi Udemezue 

img-0422_orig

Job 14:7-9 (NIV)
“At least there is hope for a tree. If it is cut down, it will sprout again, and its new shoots will not fail.
Its roots may grow old in the ground and its stump die in the soil,
Yet at the scent of water it will bud and put forth shoots like a plant.”

There’s something magical about trees, no? The root is the organ of the tree and typically a lot bigger than the tree itself.
Is it a coincidence that there are references made throughout the bible to our relationship with Christ to be like the roots of a tree? The root is the ORGAN – what is needed to keep the tree alive. Strong roots are not easily uprooted, they span so far and so long that you probably would be unable to get to the beginning.

Recently, I felt almost very restless and a stirring, so I took my Mums car to run some errands but ultimately to go for a drive to clear my head. I think my best when I am outside, uninterrupted just me, my thoughts and the Holy Spirit.
I ended up parking next to an old school which has turned into a construction site. Literally bricks, rubbish, mess everywhere.
I felt like the Holy Spirit was saying ‘Okay see that school, how much pressure do you reckon it has taken to pull that school all the way down? The resistance? The force? And then how much more pressure and resistance do you reckon it will take to re-build it up again?’
See maybe you are like me and you feel like there is some resistance or pressure in your life. You feel restless and almost jumpy like “come on, I’m ready!”
But from that encounter I realized, when God is breaking things off you, e.g. your character, personality traits, habits etc. it is not a comfortable place to be in. Likewise, when He is re-building you and instilling in you what you need to be all that you want to be and more.

But then I realized, once He has finished building you up, how much will it take for you to come tumbling down again? Our roots, our organs need to be rooted in Christ so that if and when we are cut down (because God and life will serve us slices of humble pie if we aren’t careful) when the Holy Spirit comes again, we can still grow and shoot forth again.

I shared this on snapchat when I caught the revelation, but I’m really glad I have the opportunity to share on a wider platform!
I pray that somehow it touches you and encourages you to seek Gods face a little bit more so that your roots become planted firmer in Him!

Stay blessed,
Chid x
www.mycameragodandi.weebly.com

To view more of the lovely Chidi’s post check out her blog 🙂 click the link above, stay blessed! 

Leave a Reply

