Personal Fasting

post18

“Moreover, when you fast, do not be like the hypocrites, with a sad countenance. For they disfigure their faces that they may appear to men to be fasting. Assuredly, I say to you, they have their reward. 17 But you, when you fast, anoint your head and wash your face, 18 so that you do not appear to men to be fasting, but to your Father who is in the secret place; and your Father who sees in secret will reward you openly.” (Matthew 6:16-18).

Fasting, some of you sigh at the very thought. Don’t worry I’m not judging, I do the same. It is one of the hardest things yet at the same time one of the most powerful tools. Restraining our bodies from food/water and focusing on God, what a rewarding sacrifice.

Last week I fasted and let me tell you it was not easy. God, however, is very faithful and true to His word. I remember things that I had prayed for months before hand suddenly happen after the fasting. I can tell you now I was overjoyed. He is truly a rewarder. Then I got to thinking what was so different this time around? It hit me, most people didn’t know I was fasting, nor did I show that I was. Nowadays Christians have become so used to complaining. Am I right? we are quick to forget Matthew 6:16-18. Those who fast in secret get their great reward from God. However, if we fast publically and complain we have already received our reward (the attention). We always want people to know of our sufferings and hardships. We forget sometimes it is best to keep secretive so that God will bless us.

So if you are wondering like I used to. Why is it that when you fast nothing seems to change? well, take a step back and review yourself. Were you doing a public fasting or a personal fasting? Stay blessed!

He is a Rewarder of those who do not publicise.

Leave a Reply

